[Solved] How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

The Amyuni PDF Converter is our Printer Driver that enables you to convert any documents to PDF format. If you have any questions about installing and using the Amyuni PDF Converter please post them here.
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

[Solved] How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Is there a way I can tell if PDF2RTF() is enabled for a given license?
I tried printing to a PDF and then converting it to a RTF file, but it returns 0 and doesn't work at all.
I'm calling SetLicenseKey with the licensing strings before of that, but that doesn't seem to help :(
I'm sure I'm missing something.. but what? :?

Any help is appreciated :wink:

PS: I'm using v3.02 of the drivers
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

I tried the very same code with drivers 2.50f and it works, so this issue seems to be related to the 3.02 version...
I double-checked and the PDF files gets created.
This happens both on my vista business (x86) machine and on the win2003 (x64) machine on which I just tried it...
HTH
Joan
Amyuni Team
Posts: 2799
Joined: Wed Sep 11 2002
Contact:

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by Joan »

Hello,

If the RTF file doesn't get created you need to send your licensee name and activation code to support@amyuni.com to verify if they support RTF Export.

As these are confidential you can't post them here.

Hope this helps.
Custom Brand the Amyuni PDF Printer Driver http://www.amyuni.com/en/developer/branding/index.html

Amyuni PDF Converter tested for true PDF performance. View results - http://www.amyuni.com/benchmark
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Hi Joanna,
don't worry, I'm not going to post them here :)

Anyway, why the very same license codes do work with the 2.50f driver (which is able to convert PDF->RTF) while with 3.02 do not?
Thank you!
Luke
Joan
Amyuni Team
Posts: 2799
Joined: Wed Sep 11 2002
Contact:

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by Joan »

The very same license code can't work with 2.51 and 3.02. You need to have a new license code for 3.02.

So if you are using your 2.51 license code for version 3.02 it is normal that it doesn't work.

In my previous post I thought that you already have a new code for 3.02.
Custom Brand the Amyuni PDF Printer Driver http://www.amyuni.com/en/developer/branding/index.html

Amyuni PDF Converter tested for true PDF performance. View results - http://www.amyuni.com/benchmark
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Your assumptions are true, I already have a code for 3.02 and I know codes for 2.50 won't work on 3.02 drivers.
As a matter of fact, sometimes in my experimentation I'm doing the opposite, that is using codes for 3.02 on the 2.50 driver (and it works).
What doesn't work is PDF to RTF conversion using 3.02 drivers activated by a 3.02 code.

PS: Can I assume that a license code will work on "lower" versions? That is, can I use a v3.02 licence on a v2.50 driver?
Joan
Amyuni Team
Posts: 2799
Joined: Wed Sep 11 2002
Contact:

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by Joan »

Hello,

An activation code will work on a lower version but not on a higher one.

Please try other export options (export to HTML or XPS) will they work?

What you can do is send us your 3.02 activation code along with your licensee name to check it and make sure that the Export to RTF option is there.

Hope this helps.
Custom Brand the Amyuni PDF Printer Driver http://www.amyuni.com/en/developer/branding/index.html

Amyuni PDF Converter tested for true PDF performance. View results - http://www.amyuni.com/benchmark
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Hello Joanna

Thank you again for your enlightening suggestions!
I just sent the activation code to support (at) amyuni (dot) com...

I've also tried converting to HTML, but it doesn't work either...

But... are there multiple way of doing this? I mean, is it like encryption, where you can choose whether encrypt when creating the pdf or "post-process" an existing one?
I'm currently using the latter option... don't know however if there is another one.

Thank you, have a nice day!
Luke
Joan
Amyuni Team
Posts: 2799
Joined: Wed Sep 11 2002
Contact:

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by Joan »

Hello,

Sure, you can export a pdf file to any format while genreating it by adding the corresponding export option to FileNameOptions.

Hope this helps.
Custom Brand the Amyuni PDF Printer Driver http://www.amyuni.com/en/developer/branding/index.html

Amyuni PDF Converter tested for true PDF performance. View results - http://www.amyuni.com/benchmark
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Well, I just tried printing directly to an RTF file, using these FileOptions and drivers 2.50:
NoPrompt + UseFileName + ExportToRTF (that is 0x08000003)

However what I get is a file which is not an RTF, it's a file starting with the typical PDF header: %PDF-1.3... :(
On the other side when printing to PDF and then converting it to RTF it does work with drivers 2.50.

Then I went trying drivers 3.02 on the same conditions.
When printing to directly to RTF I get the same results as above (just a PDF named RTF).
If I follow the Print-2-PDF -> Convert-to-RTF path, I can see that only the former works, the latter does not.

Summarizing...
On Vista x86:
  • Driver v2.50
    • Direct print to RTF: wrong, prints a PDF
    • Print to PDF, then convert to RTF: ok
  • Driver v3.02
    • Direct print to RTF: wrong, prints a PDF
    • Print to PDF, then convert to RTF: wrong, no conversion at all (however this works on Win2003 x64)
I read again the docs talking about SetLicenseKey and noticed that they say it has to be called right after LoadLibrary.
I'm using VFP 9 and loading cdintf.dll dynamically, so this implies that I'll have to call SetLicenseKey right after I define amyuni functions (in order to tell VFP to search for them in that specific DLL..): is it ok?
Anyway I just tried this one... and it still won't help with 3.02 drivers: PDF2RTF keeps returning 0 and doing nothing... :?:

On a side note: if I'm loading the dll in order to setup and enable the printer driver, isn't that enough to unlock those PDF2xxx functions until the DLL gets unloaded? Just an idea, since I noticed that calling SetLicenseKey after EnablePrinter has the only effect of blocking those functions, while on the other side if I only call EnablePrinter and then those post-processing functions it usually works... but I'd like to be sure of which is the expected way to use them 8)

Thank you for the attention,
have a nice day! :)
Luke
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Hello Joanna,
the support team confirmed that I don't have the ExportToRTF option in my license code (well, I didn't know it was possible to include/exclude it from the license...)

They also gave me a demo key ("Amyuni Evaluation Version") which includes it, so I tried to replicate what I found with it.
This changed a little my results, but only for the "post processing" part:

Driver v3.02 on Vista (x86)
  • * Direct print to RTF: wrong, prints a PDF
    * Print to PDF, then convert to RTF: ok
As you can see, the direct printing method keeps on printing a PDF body inside an RTF filename, in spite of the ExportToRTF option inside the SetFileNameOptions...
Am I missing something?

Thank you!
Luke
Joan
Amyuni Team
Posts: 2799
Joined: Wed Sep 11 2002
Contact:

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by Joan »

Hello,

While using the direct print method export to RTF should work.

You need to specify a pdf file name as output and you are supposed to get both a pdf and an RTF file as output.

Hope this helps, if not we need to check this more closely.

Thanks
Custom Brand the Amyuni PDF Printer Driver http://www.amyuni.com/en/developer/branding/index.html

Amyuni PDF Converter tested for true PDF performance. View results - http://www.amyuni.com/benchmark
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Hello Joanna,
I didn't know that direct RTF printing needed a PDF output file to be specified to get the RTF counterpart, much like the "post processing" way..

Anyway I tried it on a clean XP sp2 virtual machine and it seems to work with the evaluation code, but only if I install the PDF printer with the same code.

If I install the printer with our code it doesn't output the RTF, only PDF: I guess that the code used to install the printer gets used somehow even if I activate it with a different code (that should not happen in "real life", but I'm just testing here so I wonder: is this something I have to care about in my tests, does the installation license code change the way printer behaves, without regards to the enabling code?)

On my "real" Vista machine I don't get it working, although I think this might be related to the printer being installed with our code. I'll try to reinstall it with the demo code...

At first sight, it seems that the main problem is in our licence code, which doesn't have the RTF option in it...
Just a curiosity: where do we had to choose whether to include RTF support or not, when renewing our subscription?
I don't remember anything like that (but we did it some time ago, maybe I'm missing something...)

Thank you for you attention,
Luke
Joan
Amyuni Team
Posts: 2799
Joined: Wed Sep 11 2002
Contact:

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by Joan »

Hello,

If you have the PDF Converter you definitely need to generate PDF files and RTF files together, you can't generate only RTF files.
Customers who had older versions of the RTF Converter could generate RTF files alone, however the RTF Converter is not available as a standalone tool anymore, it is available in the PDF Suite Package and with the PDF Converter Professional edition version 3.0 and above.

Actually, it is the combination of your licensee name and activation code that specify the available features of your tool.

I didn't get what you mean by:
does the installation license code change the way printer behaves, without regards to the enabling code?)
If you have the PDF Converter you can upgrade it to add the Export options (Export to RTF, HTML, JPeg, Tiff and XPS).

You can do that either by logging to your update section on our website https://www.amyuni.com/en/support_user/updates.php or you can contact sales@amyuni.com

Hope this helps.
Custom Brand the Amyuni PDF Printer Driver http://www.amyuni.com/en/developer/branding/index.html

Amyuni PDF Converter tested for true PDF performance. View results - http://www.amyuni.com/benchmark
lp
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 12 2005
Location: Italy

Re: How to tell if PDF2RTF is available?

Post by lp »

Hello Joanna,
I went to the page you suggested to see what you are talking about, but I cannot see any way to add "Export options"..
There I can see that we have this kind of license:
PDF Converter PRO
Developer
Multi-Platform
when you say:
it is available in the PDF Suite Package and with the PDF Converter Professional edition version 3.0 and above.
do you mean that we should have it, OR that we have the option to include it?

I'll try to better explain this:
does the installation license code change the way printer behaves, without regards to the enabling code?
When I install a printer I must supply a licensee and a license code to install it.
Then, before printing, I'll have to enable it with the same pair of strings (ok, nothing new so far).

Sometimes, however, I end up enabling a printer which has been installed with a different pair of license strings: I wanted to know if this can have side effects. This happened when testing, since I got the printer installed with our "official" license and the test code enabling it with the "evaluation" license, in order to see if some features were ok.
I just wanted to know if I'll have to remove the printer and re-install it with the other license code in order to have the expected behaviour...

Thank you again, Joanna,
I really appreciate your support!
Luke
Post Reply